MetSoc Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is composed of MetSoc members and volunteers who are dedicated to supporting the society by assisting in the planning of community activities, webinars, events and conferences.

The Board is made up of three groups:

Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of the Immediate Past President, President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer and Secretary.

Technical Sections

The Technical Sections represent the technical diversity of the metals, minerals and materials community.

Standing Committees

These committees are dedicated to the various services of the society such as membership, students, EDI, publications, etc.

MetSoc Executive Board of Directors

Janice Zinck


Director – Green Mining Innovation, base/precious metals, and critical minerals

Stephen Corbin

Immediate Past President

Professor of Materials Engineering at Dalhousie University

Roki Fukuzawa

1st Vice-President

Specialist at Hatch

Dimitrios Filippou

2nd Vice-President

RioExpert Metallurgist, Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium, Sorel-Tracy, QC

Julie Lévesque

3rd Vice-President

R&D project manager, Centre de métallurgie du Québec

Greg Richards


Teck Metals, Retired

Dimitrios Filippou


RioExpert Metallurgist, Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium, Sorel-Tracy, QC

MetSoc Technical Sections

Brittany MacKinnon



Cinziana Sist



Sumanth Shankar

Light Metals

Mechanical Engineering, McMaster University

Yu Zou


Materials Science & Engineering, University of Toronto

Charlotte Gibson

Minerals Science & Engineering

Assistant Professor, Queen’s University

Elmira Moosavi


École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS)

MetSoc Standing Committees

Daniel Brosig

Business Development - Chair

Director, Energy Solutions at Gas Cleaning Technologies LLC

Engin Ozberk

Historical Metallurgy - Chair

CIM Fellow

André Phillion

Publications - Chair

Materials Science and Engineering, McMaster University

Sidney Omelon

Student Activites - Chair

Department of Materials Engineering, McGill University

Georges Houlachi

Membership Services - Chair

Hydro Quebec, LTE lab

Greg Richards

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) - Chair

Teck Metals, Retired